Pappalardo Composition Award

Each year, Radius Ensemble commissions a Longy student composer as part of our residency at the Longy School of Music of Bard College.  This program is made possible by Jane and Neil Pappalardo.

The Pappalardo Composition Award was created to give composition students the opportunity to hear their music performed by professional musicians.  Finalists, as selected by Longy composition faculty, receive a 30 minute workshop.  The recipient, chosen by Radius Ensemble, earns a performance on a Radius subscription series concert.



2023 – Jiashu He, Dream of the Moon Charioteer for horn, violin, viola, and cello
2022 – Christina GeorgeThe Last Words for clarinet, violin, bass, and piano
2021 Hiatus due to Covid-19
2020 – Aaron Clarke, "grind – automatic – steam – rise" for flute, viola, and cello
2019 – Stephany Svorinić, Woodscrossing for oboe, cello, and piano
2018 – Sharad Gurung, Twelve in a Row for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano
2017 – Max Kliegle, Chatter for oboe, bassoon, violin, viola and piano
2016 – Larry Rubin, It’s So Wonderful for flute and strings
2015 – Jordan Chase, Quintalogue for woodwind quintet
2014 – Xue Han, Portrait of Dew for piano trio
2013 – Jared Hettrick, Disputatio Magna for horn, cello and piano
2012 – Daniela Dematos, Woodwind Trio No. 2

Pictured: 2013 winner Jared Hettrick with Radius musicians Anne Howarth, horn (standing); Miriam Bolkosky, cello (L); and Sarah Bob, piano (R)