Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 3 pm
Fitchburg Art Museum
SCHUMAKER – Mehretu trace for oboe, clarinet, and electronic media
IBERT – Cinq Pièces en trio
BEETHOVEN – Quintet for piano and winds, Op. 16

Reserve your free tickets at left. 

A young Ludwig van Beethoven sought to make his mark on the glittering city of Vienna when he moved there to study with Haydn in 1792. One of the works from that period was the Quintet in E-flat for piano and winds, Op. 16, written with the intent to showcase Beethoven’s prowess as both composer and pianist. Also on the program, the world premiere of Mehretu trace, inspired by the work of Ethiopian painter Julie Mehretu, by Matthew Schumaker, MLK Visiting Scholar at MIT, who will be present for the performance. 


This concert is made possible by the Howard & Katherine Aibel Foundation

Special thanks to Rogers Piano of Natick