Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 8pm
Pickman Hall, Longy School of Music

STRAUSS – Till eulenspiegel einmal anders! (arr. Hasenöhrl)
HOFFMAN – Music for Two Oboes
GURUNG – Twelve in a Row
BRAHMS – Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60

Brahms shelved his third piano quartet, first composed in his youth, for two decades before returning to finish it. The meaning of the work – and its emotional ties to Robert and Clara Schumann – is shrouded in mystery. Till Eulenspiegel – einmal anders is a masterpiece in miniature, an arrangement of Richard Strauss’s famous orchestral tone poem for just five instruments, and in half the time. Plus, American Joel Hoffman’s Music for Two Oboes, and a new work by the winner of the Pappalardo Composition Competition.

Get tickets below or check out the full season schedule and subscribe

At right: One of Strauss’s merry pranksters; a young Johannes Brahms; Pappalardo Composition Competition winner Sharad Gurung

Please note: there is a $4 surcharge per ticket when purchased at the door